With current and former group members coming from 5 continents and 8 different countries, we enjoy the diverse perspective this brings to the group.  We welcome everyone of different backgrounds and identities, and LGBTQ+ members.

Current group:


Alexis Ostrowski, PhD

Alexis D. Ostrowski is an Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry and affiliated with the Center for Photochemical Sciences and Center for Great Lakes and Watershed Studies at Bowling Green State University. Dr. Ostrowski’s research group focuses on materials science and photochemistry, and the Ostrowski Lab works to design new photoresponsive materials for wastewater treatment and bioplastics. Dr. Ostrowski started as an Assistant Professor of Chemistry at BGSU in 2012 and was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure in 2018.  In 2020, she was awarded the inaugural Thomas Kinstle Professorship at BGSU. She was an NSF-CAREER award recipient in 2017 and received the BGSU Outstanding Early Career award in 2018.  Dr. Ostrowski earned a BA in Chemistry from Occidental College in Los Angeles, California and received her PhD from the University of California, Santa Barbara. She was an NSF-IGERT fellow at UCSB and following her PhD, she received a Ruth L. Kirstein postdoctoral fellowship at The Molecular Foundry, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab.  

Graduate students:

Ankit Dara: 2016-present

Ankit graduated in 2015 with a BS-MS Dual Degree in Chemistry from Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Bhopal, India. His MS-Research Project was focused on “Sodium Nitrite Mediated Synthesis of 4-nitro-dibenzofurans” under the supervision of Dr. Sangit Kumar, IISER Bhopal. Ankit is from Sonipat, Haryana, India. Follow Ankit on twitter @AnkitDara3 for updates. Email: ankitd

Kalani Edirisinghe:  2016-present

Kalani received her BS degree in Chemistry from the University of Colombo and her MS degree in Polymer Science and Technology from the University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Sri Lanka in 2016. Her MS research project was focused on developing a Novel Nitrosamine-free preservative system for centrifuged natural rubber latex. She spent a year interning at Rubber Research Institute of Sri Lanka before becoming a graduate student. Follow Kalani on twitter @KalaniBGSU for updates. Email: ediride

Carina Haddad: 2018-present

Carina received a bachelor’s degree in chemistry (with distinction) from the Lebanese American University in May 2016. For undergraduate research she worked with Dr. Rony Khnayzer and focused on the synthesis and characterization of Ruthenium complexes. Follow Carina on twitter @haddad_carina for updates. Email: carinah

Cori Byrge: 2020-present

Irene Baraza: 2021-present

Dhilanka Udukalage: 2021-present

Undergraduate students:

Hope Brown:  2020-present

Lab Alumni:


Amie Norton, 2017-2019


Jayan Karunarathna, PhD awarded 2020 (Follow Dr. Karunarathna on twitter @jaykarunarathna for updates) currently postdoc with Beza Getachew at Rice University

Travis Green, PhD awarded 2020 (Follow Dr. Green on twitter @Greentc92 for updates) currently professor of chemistry, North Central State College

Anton Razgoniaev, PhD awarded 2017, currently postdoc with Mark Thompson at University of Southern California

Giuseppe Giammanco, PhD awarded 2016, Researcher at Akzo Nobel

Dayana Muizzi, MS awarded 2015


Derek Mast: BS Chemistry awarded 2019; Summer-Fall 2019

Kerri Bailey: BS Biochemistry awarded 2019, 2018- 2019

Rachel BianculliBS Chemistry awarded 2018, 2017-2018

Zachery Hatten, BGSU, BS Chemistry awarded 2018, 2017-2018

Jacob Medina, Summer intern from St. Marys, Summer 2017

Jackson Chory: BGSU undergrad, 2015-2017

Bethany Abbott: BGSU undergrad, Summer 2016

Kirill Mikhalov, summer intern from St. Petersburg, Russia; Summer 2015, 2016

Ivan Mosiagin, summer intern from St. Petersburg, Russia; Summer 2016

Erin Kielmeyer, Chemistry major, BGSU; 2015-2016

Joshua Chaffins, Chemistry major, BGSU; Summer 2015

Jon Mase, BS Biochemistry awarded 2015;  2013-2015

Chris Sosnofsky, BS Biochemistry awarded 2015;  2013-2015

CJ Reed, BS Chemistry awarded 2015; Fall 2014

Filipp Obrezkov, summer intern from St. Petersburg, Russian Federation; Summer 2014